Off Season Training – The Full Workout

All the previous posts have looked at the main muscle groups in freestyle kayaking and some exercises that you may want to use to train them.

This post shows how a put all these exercises together in one simple workout.

Note – I may not be the best kayaker in the world, I simply enjoy fitness and kayaking. I am also a bit of a science geek so reading about training and specific kayak training ideas is a fun hobby for me. These posts are really a way of storing information as my brain has limited space these days. I am also extremely dyslexic so please ignore the spelling mistakes.

Disclaimer – This is my plan based on my needs, injuries and fitness. I am not a PT so cant advise you on the best exercises for you and how to perform them. I will try to link you to good quality videos on the exercises from people that are qualified trainers.

All these ideas and plans have come from my academic research into kayak training and fitness training, the research can be read in previous posts. The links within the text will lead you to these posts.

My current work out 

Full warm up including aerobic work and some easy exercises. I also like to do a few sets of each each exercises too. So I will always do a few pull ups, press ups, sits ups ect before starting the main workout

Full workout

 

One huge issue with this workout is that it takes ages. All the resting between exercises really adds up. So I often change the order of the exercises and run the session as a circuit training session. The layout of this is shown below.

circuit

I like to do two or three sessions like this per week depending on how much I am kayaking or how my body is feeling

 

Leave a comment