Specific Kayaking Training- Principles and Ideas

Although looking at the science is great to do, its all a bit useless unless we actually use the information to come up with a training plan. This is why the next few posts will look at how I plan to use the research information to inform my training with specific reference to gym work that transfer well into kayaking.

Note –  I may not be the best kayaker in the world, I simply enjoy fitness and kayaking. I am also a bit of a science geek so reading about training and specific kayak training ideas is a fun hobby for me. These posts are  really a way of storing information as my brain has limited space these days.  I am also extremely dyslexic so please ignore the spelling mistakes.

Disclaimer – This is my plan based on my needs, injuries and fitness. I am not a PT so cant advise you on the best exercisers for you and how to perform them. I will try to link you to good quality videos on the exercises from people that are qualified trainers.

All these ideas and plans have come from my  academic research into kayak training and fitness training, the research can be read in previous posts. The links within the text will lead you to these posts.

General principles

My training plan is split into a number of phases or cycles

  1. Off season or general training
  2. Transition to more specific training
  3. Specific Training
  4. Comp period.

Each period will have a different focus with very distant aims. On top of simply going kayaking, extra training will involve the 4 main muscle groups used in kayaking. Training should also involve energy system training and prehab exercises too . My training will always be focusing on all of these, no matter which period of the training I am in. The difference will be how much focus there is on each one and the type of exercises I am doing. There is also a huge change in energy system training as the plan progresses.

Below is a list of the 7 main focuses of my training.

  1. Pushing muscle
  2. Pulling muscles
  3. Core flexion/extension
  4. Core rotation.
  5. Prehab exercises
  6. Energy system training
  7. Kayaking and skill training

Specific  training period

The aim of this period is to expand the work during the off season training period

Dumbbell-Single-Arm-RowDuring the specfic  training my aim is to use the main kayaking muscle groups in a manor that is more specific to freestyle kayaking. The movements will aim to closely match the moments done in a boat. This way there will be a greater transfer of strength and power from the gym to the water.

TABLE SHOWING THE FOUR BASIC MOVEMENTS DURING THE OFF SEASON TRAINING

Pushing exercises Horizontal movements similar the kayaking
Pulling exercises Horizontal movements similar the kayaking
Core flexion/extension Flexion and extension, dynamic movements
Core rotation Rotation specific dynamic movements

TYPES OF EXERCISES I LIKE TO USE

windshield-wiper-exercise
Windscreen wipers similar to kartwheels

As a father, full time employed and generally busy person, I find I have to fit in training when ever I can. This is why I like to use body weight training as it can be done anywhere, and for free. More details on the exercises I will be using will be in later posts.

 

 

LENGTH OF OFF-SEASON TRAINING

Hopefully you will have already planned this out as you will have done an off season training period. I am currently planning on spending about 2-3 months doing off season training and then a similar amount of time doing more specific training.

REPS, REST PERIODS, HOW OFTEN TO TRAIN, HOW MUCH TO TRAIN.

Click on the links to find out a bit more, but in order to keep this post short the answer is;

  • Reps – If the exercise is new or I have not done it in a while I like to start of with the typical 8 –  12 sets. This may change to lower reps with harder resistance later on
  • Sets – between 8 to 12 a week (I am aiming for 12 sets) per muscle group
  • Rest periods – around 3 mins but anywhere between 2 to 4 mins is fine. I normally do my training in circuits to save time. This means I will do a set of pulling followed by a shortish break, then pushing exercise with a break, then core work. By the time I get back to a pulling exercise, I will have had enough of a break to be able perform well again.
  • Frequency – 2 different exercises per muscle group in each session. Three sessions per week. So one session will have
    • 2 pulling exercises
    • 2 pushing
    • 2 core flexion
    • 2 core rotation
    • A bunch of prehab exercises

PERIODISATION OF STRENGTH/POWER TRAINING

As the months move on I will be changing the focus of the training. At first I will be be doing exercises within the 8-12 rep range so there is a focus on strength and muscle building. Later on I will focus on Max strength with exercises in the 4-6 rep range.

After this I will be doing some more power training and then the final focus will be Power Endurance but doing some more anaerobic HIIT training.

AEROBIC TRAINING

As I will be doing more HIIT training and kayaking, aerobic work will be covered. I still enjoy running so this will be done in order to aid recovery but it is not a huge focus.

KAYAKING

Time in a boat will be increasing during this phase. As this happens I may choose to reduce the amount of gym work I am doing.

Kayaking will start to involve routines as well as working on new tricks

The next posts will look at the exercises I like to use during this specific training  period as well a sample work out.

Leave a comment